Friday, Feb 03, 2023 07:30 [IST]

Last Update: Friday, Feb 03, 2023 01:50 [IST]

New Darjeeling Municipality board formed

DARJEELING, : The new board of Darjeeling Municipality was formed today after takeover of the municipality by Bharatiya Gorkha Prajatantrik Morcha (BGPM).

The BGPM along with its alliance TMC had recently proven its majority in the civic body over Hamro Party (HP) and Gorkha Janmukti Morcha alliance.

New municipality chairman Dipen Thakuri said, “We will move forward with this new team and work for the betterment of Darjeeling.”

The departments were also allocated among the new Chairman-in-Council members.

Chairman-in-Council member Bishnu Malla was given the Finance and Resource Mobilization departments, while Mukund Raj Baraily was given Health, Education and Urban Poverty Alleviation departments. On the other hand, Nitesh Gurung was given Zamindary department, Ganesh Sarki Public Health and Sanitation departments, Sitam Lama Public Works department and Saran Chettri was Water Works department. Other members for these departments were also chosen today.

Members-in-charge for departments like Establishment, License and Tax, Street Light and Advertisement, Nazarath, Market, Mutation of Land and Buildings, Disaster Management, Education, among others were also fixed today.

Sikkim at a Glance

  • Area: 7096 Sq Kms
  • Capital: Gangtok
  • Altitude: 5,840 ft
  • Population: 6.10 Lakhs
  • Topography: Hilly terrain elevation from 600 to over 28,509 ft above sea level
  • Climate:
  • Summer: Min- 13°C - Max 21°C
  • Winter: Min- 0.48°C - Max 13°C
  • Rainfall: 325 cms per annum
  • Language Spoken: Nepali, Bhutia, Lepcha, Tibetan, English, Hindi